DSC_1005

My daughter RARELY snuggles with me. She pretty much has to have already been asleep, and I stole her out of her crib or car seat to sneak some cuddles! Lately, however, she has had some trouble sleeping and has been experiencing some teething pain. At first, I was annoyed (I wanted to sleep/nap by myself), but as I held her, the Lord touched my heart and reminded me what a blessing this sweet snoring, drooling little princess in my arms was! I took the opportunity to pray for my baby girl. I thanked Him for allowing me to be her mother and trusting her with my care. I prayed for…

  • Her to come to a saving knowledge of the Lord Jesus at a young age
  • The Lord to use her life to bring glory and honor to His name
  • Wisdom for us as her parents to raise her in the way of the Lord and teach her to serve Him with her life.
  • Willingness on our part to “let her go,” to know that she is not OURS, but she is HIS. That whatever He chose to do with her life, wherever He chose to send her, whatever He chose to put her through, we would trust His plan and praise His name.
  •  The Lord to give her grace to have a fun, happy childhood living in India, that she would make little Indian friends, and be a Christian witness to them all!
  • Sounds crazy because she is not even a year old, but I prayed for her purity, her femininity, and for the man of God the Lord would give her. That He would prepare her to be the perfect help meet for a man who loves the Lord more than He will love her (but that he loves her LIKE CRAZY too!).

Everyone tells you how quickly “they” grow up, and I always kind of rolled my eyes, but now that we are nearing her first birthday, I am finally understanding what all of these mommies and daddies were talking about! Parenting a child is such a huge responsibility, and it is so humbling that the Lord would entrust us with the care of this precious gift! We take this responsibility very seriously, and we just beg the Lord for wisdom and grace for the care, keeping, and training of our sweet little Jolynn Elyse!

Psalm 127: 3 Lo, children are an heritage of the Lord: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth.Happy is the man that hath his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with the enemies in the gate.

I think I will write a whole other blog post about what the Lord has taught me through this portion of Scripture! In short, we need to train our children to be witnesses for Him. They are arrows to be SENT, not our possessions to cling to tightly. We are not to shelter them and totally keep them from the world, but we are to equip them and train them for the battles they will face so that, ultimately, their lives would bring great glory to their heavenly Father. I think, as a result, their earthly parents will be pretty proud, too!

Thankful for our daughter and for a God who loves her way more than we ever could!

