I am afraid sometimes we hear Bible verses throughout our lives, and they become more like a little cliche than a powerful truth in our lives. John 10:10 is a wonderful example of this that I fear.

The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.

If a poll was taken, and everyone was asked if they wished to live a full and meaningful life, I believe that nearly all of those polled would respond in the affirmative. We are created with a desire to live a purposeful life, and we are innately designed to seek out the good in life.

The sad reality is that many who actively seek meaning and purpose end up pursuing it through all the wrong avenues. They are deceived to believe that the things of this world can please them and bring ultimate satisfaction and meaning in their lives.

From working within the secular world for just a few years, I got to know some people who led very worldly lifestyles. The consequences of sin were DESTROYING their lives! They mocked my beliefs but would often share with me just how empty their lives were and how miserable they were as a result. I was able to share the love of Jesus with them and just how FULL he has made my life, but for reasons I will never understand, they carried on with their self-serving lifestyles… their miserable, empty lifestyles.

These coworkers would often poke fun at my expense and pick on me more often than not. Through it all, however, they would express envy for my lifestyle: my attitude, my relationship with my husband, my joy in the workplace. Even though they didn’t quite “get it,” they envied it.

I, on the other hand, pitied them, and I desperately wanted them to “get it,” to come to a saving knowledge of the Lord Jesus Christ. I wanted them to experience the JOY that I have and the love has been lavished upon me! I am thankful for the abundant life I live in Jesus, and that I don’t have to go day to day living solely for myself and seeking gratification yet never attaining any. I know that ultimate satisfaction comes only through a relationship with my Savior Jesus Christ, and I am so thankful He paid the price on Calvary so I could live a full, wonderful life in communion with Him! I plan to spend my life in service to Him, and I pray He would keep my heart from the evil One who wants to destroy my purpose for the Lord!

