…He loves me not?

Sometimes I fall into this mindset that I operate within a performance based relationship. If I don’t keep the house immaculate or if I burn the chicken, I assume that my husband’s love-meter drops a little. I apologize to him profusely, and mostly he just laughs at me. He assures me that he loves me no matter what I do…or don’t do!

But does his unconditional love give me the excuse to lie around and watch Netflix all day and let my child eat Cheerios off of the floor? Absolutely not!  As he is driven to accept me with grace due to his love for me, I should be equally motivated with love to perform my duties to the best of my ability and take genuine efforts to minister to and care for my husband’s heart.

The same is true in my spiritual life. God loved me when I was dead in trespasses in sin, when I did not have a care for his truth, and when I was lost in utter darkness. But, praise God, He saw me through a lens of grace, through the blood of Jesus Christ and took my worthless soul as His treasure! Just as it was “not of works” at the time of salvation, the truth remains further down the road in my Christian life. God loves and values me on my good days when I respect my husband, lovingly care for my child, and speak the truth in love, and he loves me still on the days I resent my husband, begrudgingly care for my family and home, and show off the skills of a smart mouth.

But does this give me an excuse to selfishly seek my own desires and live independent of the truth of Scripture? Absolutely not! God’s grace should compel me to love Him in the best way that I can: by giving it all back to Him, glorifying Him with each and every action and decision of my day.

For, brethren, ye have been called unto liberty; only use not liberty for an occasion to the flesh, but by love serve one another (Galatians 5:13).

