The Tough (that’s what I’m calling myself as of RIGHT NOW) gets writing!

It’s a little bit of strange experience returning to my blog. I was never really great at keeping up with it, but I always enjoyed working on the posts I was able to write, and it certainly helped me to process through a tragic time in my life.

I find myself in a strangely similar time, though it is not something I have experienced before. What I mean, is the disappointment of this particular day in my life is much like the disappointment of my due date rolling around.

Like my due date, today was supposed to be a BIG, EXCITING day in my life! After over 2 years of support-raising, we were leaving for our mission field, New Delhi, India. Our last meeting of deputation was over, our support was raised, our bags were packed, we had said our goodbyes. Everything we could do in order to be ready to leave had been done.

Our family at our blessing service at Vision Baptist Church in Alpharetta, GA.
Our family at our blessing service at Vision Baptist Church in Alpharetta, GA.
Prayer with leaders at our "last" service at our home church, Grace Baptist Church in Middletown, OH.
Prayer with leaders at our “last” service at our home church, Grace Baptist Church in Middletown, OH.

However, after months of praying, hoping, and trusting the Lord to provide our visa, it did not come. Reality set in on Tuesday when we were forced to cancel our flight and travel plans. We continue to pray, hope, and trust as we wait for an answer from the Consulate of India. You can read more about our visa situation from my husband, who is much more knowledgeable than I, here and here.

Waiting is truly the hardest part. I love the USA, but it honestly pains me to be here right now. As I tried to explain to my mom as our departure date was drawing near, “The only thing harder than going is NOT going.” I am realizing now just how much truth was in that almost prophetic statement.

So, tonight, instead of braving through 15 hours of air-travel with a soon-to-be-3-year-old and an 8-week-old infant, we will be spending a little extra time with our family before we take the next steps as the Lord paves the way for the Taubes.

Bittersweet for sure.

