Image
Jolynn “praying”

Yesterday, we dropped into a church in our hometown. Much to my delight, a friend from high-school joined the service just as it began! I hadn’t seen her for many years, but I had kept up with her on Facebook. As a mom of three boys and a little princess on the way, she certainly has a lot to share! I patiently waited until the end of the service when I would be able to speak with her, and I enjoyed the preaching as I did!

At the end of the service, she went forward with her son as he made public the profession of faith that he had made just an hour before in his Sunday school class. The pastor handled the announcement because the precious seven year old was more than a little shy! His grandparents, mommy, and I were all crying happy tears. (I’m a sympathy crier. If you cry, I’ll cry…Please don’t take advantage of that!) It was such a wonderful moment.

A line formed to greet the happy little boy and “extend to him the right hand of fellowship” (I just love Baptist jargon). Despite Jolynn’s efforts to line-jump, we waited our turn to talk to the happy momma and our new little brother in Christ! She shared with me that she had been praying for his salvation since she was pregnant with him!

I was convicted because while I do pray for Jo’s salvation occasionally, I am not at all consistent with it. There is nothing I desire more than for my children to know and love the Lord, but unfortunately, my prayer life has not reflected that. I am encouraged all the more to seek the Lord and beg him for the salvation of my daughter’s soul (Lord know’s she’s a sinner–haha!). I can’t wait for the day when I will see my daughter understand the gospel and accept the free gift Jesus offers!

And I expect you all to cry with me!

