Image

I have written before on how I chose marriage and ministry over receiving my Bachelor’s degree and pursuing a different career “of my own.” While I have always believed I had made the right decision, at times, I have felt like I had given up on one of my biggest loves: learning. However, God, who knows my heart better than anyone, is just so faithful, and He has made sure that quite the opposite is true! I have learned more in the last 3 years living for the Lord than I believe I EVER would have sitting in a classroom, perusing college textbooks, and pulling all-nighters cramming my head full of knowledge I would likely soon forget! To God be the glory, too, because this learning has not only changed the processes in my head, but it has also forever changed my HEART!

I am incredibly thankful for those who have taken the time to teach me and to nurture my love for learning and my love for the Lord. I know He has placed these people in my life to mold my heart to look a little more like His!

I am also extremely grateful for the opportunities to learn in service to Him. In the last couple of years, I have been able to serve as a lay-person in the church, a youth workers’ wife, a missionary wife on deputation, and as a mommy to a precious little gift from God. Often, I fall smack dab on my face in my attempts to minister to those around me and to live a life in service to the Lord, but those are the times I learn the most! The journey is just beginning; I will forever be a “freshman” in learning about my God and how to serve Him best!

Finally, I am thankful for a God that will forever be a mystery. I can never learn all there is to know about Him, and I can never learn all the truths He has planted deep within His great Book, the Bible! My work is cut out for me!

I am just THRILLED to be on a journey of life-long learning! In the next few years, I will learn more and more about my roles as a wife and mother and as a helper to my husband on the mission field. I will learn how to thrive in another culture and how to speak another language! I will learn to depend on the Lord in ways many people will never have to, and I hope He finds me faithful “to teach others also!” (2 Tim. 2:22).

