“I will bless the Lord at all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth.” (Psalm 34:1)

One of my most constant temptations is the temptation to complain. It’s quite unsettling how easily these complaints roll out of me. “I’m hot/cold, hungry/tired, bored/lonely.” I don’t want to do this or that, and I don’t want to go here or there. Complaints are continually in my mouth. These complaints flow from a prideful heart, always concerned about my needs and wants. Psalm 37:4 tells me that if I delight in the Lord, He will give me all my desires and meet all my needs. If I have a heart that is seeking the Lord first, I can be fully satisfied in the Lord. I can be fully content with the circumstances of my life, and I can replace my complaints with praise. I can bless Him at all times. Praise can continually be in my mouth. I can trust my God to meet my needs because He is a good, gracious, and loving God.

 O taste and see that the Lord is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him.O fear the Lord, ye his saints: for there is no want to them that fear him.The young lions do lack, and suffer hunger: but they that seek the Lord shall not want any good thing. (Ps 34:8-10)

I desire to replace my complaints with praise and my restless heart with a contented one in Christ. It won’t be an easy task, but I pray that every day He will let me trust Him a little more. That every day, he will show me a little more of  His goodness whether it come in the form of a blessing or a burden. I am looking forward to resting in His perfect love!

