Last night, during the teachers/workers meeting at Vision Baptist Church, my dear husband wrote me a little note. This is not an unusual occurrence in any given church service or meeting, but this was a very special note. It read,”Pastor asked me if we wanted to announce that we are going to India tonight.”

I replied, “Up to you, babe.”

“Are you 100% in?” Quite a weighty question for note-passing, wouldn’t you say?

After a shorter pause than I would have anticipated, I quickly scrawled, “YES!”

This is not the first time that we have discussed these plans, and I have had a few months for the Lord to work on my heart toward India. Many of you may know that I had previously been on a missions trip to Africa, and we often talked of plans of eventually serving somewhere in Africa. Honestly, I let myself get too set on this idea since that time, and it has been an adjustment to sort of “re-program” my mind and my heart to let go of this dream.

Previously, when I thought about missions, I saw African faces. This is probably just something that was created by the short time I had spent actually seeing the work and serving short term with Keith and Rebecca Shumaker in Burkina Faso. It was my only experience of missions. I prayed more often for Africa, decorated my home in our souvenirs, and dreamed of returning someday.

It is taking time, but the more that I learn about India, the more the Lord stirs my heart and creates an excitement within me live and minister there. We are fortunate enough to have friends who have an incredible burden for the country of India. Trent and Stephanie Cornwell are a constant encouragement to us. Trent’s heart for India is contagious, and I believe the Lord truly used his relationship with Paul to lead us there. He shared his dream for Vision to send 8 missionary families to India with the church, and we feel so blessed to be counted as one of those families! We also have Jim and Autumn Roberts, missionaries to India currently on deputation. They also had other plans of serving in, I believe it was, Scotland (?) when the Lord redirected their steps towards India. We are looking forward to getting to know them better as we prepare to get to the field. We hope to work along with their family in India and hope to arrive on the field just a couple years after they do.

Lord willing, our hope is to begin raising support by the end of 2012 and join the Roberts on the field by 2015. We feel so blessed to be given this opportunity, and we are trusting the Lord as He leads and guides us along the way!

